Journey of the Fool in Tarot

Journey of the Fool in Tarot

Share This Post

In the mystical realm of tarot, the journey of the Fool gives us an interesting and universal narrative to learn about our human experience in life. The Fool’s Journey is represented in the Major Arcana cards of the traditional tarot deck. The Fool is a symbolic character who has a carefree spirit and an innocent heart, who sets out on a journey through the 21 cards, known as the Major Arcana. Each card represents a step forward in the journey of life.

Overall Wisdom from the Fool’s Journey

  • As the Fool navigates through the Major Arcana, encountering trials, triumphs, and lessons, it becomes a mirror reflecting the diverse facets of our own lives. The Fool’s fearless spirit and willingness to embrace the unknown implore us to approach our journeys with similar courage and openness. 
  • In the face of challenges, the Fool reminds us that every setback is an opportunity for growth, every detour a chance for self-discovery. 
  • The wisdom of the Fool lies in the acknowledgment that life’s path is rarely linear, and by adopting a playful and inquisitive attitude, we can find meaning even in unexpected twists and turns. 
  • The Fool’s Journey encourages us to trust the process, savor the present, and recognize that each step, whether stumbling or graceful, contributes to the rich tapestry of our own narratives. 
  • Ultimately, the Fool inspires us to embrace life’s uncertainties with curiosity, resilience, and an unwavering belief in the transformative power of the journey itself.

The Fool’s Journey

The Fool (0)

  • The journey begins with the Fool, a symbol of innocence and boundless potential. He is setting out on an adventure into the unknown with his bag on a stick and a trusted familiar by his side.

The Magician (1)

  • The stick that the Fool carried his bag on turns into a magic wand when the Magician introduces him to the concept of harnessing one’s personal power, skills, and resources to manifest what he wants in life.

The High Priestess (2)

  • The High Priestess represents intuition and hidden knowledge, guiding the Fool through a phase of introspection and inner exploration. He learns the importance of trusting his intuition.

The Empress (3)

  • Symbolizing creativity, feminine power, and nurturing energy, the Empress introduces the Fool to the aspects of abundance and fertility in life. She teaches him the role that interpersonal relationships play in bringing abundance and harmony to life.

The Emperor (4)

  • The Emperor embodies structure and authority, marking a phase where the Fool encounters the need for order, willpower, and discipline to achieve self-mastery.

The Hierophant (5)

  • The Fool seeks advice and encounters the Hierophant who represents tradition and spiritual guidance. The Fool recognizes the value and wisdom that comes from established sources.

The Lovers (6)

  • The Fool encounters the complexities in relationships and personal connections. The archetype of The Lovers card signifies choices and partnerships, providing the Fool guidance in making ethical choices and navigating the logic of the mind and the desires of the heart.

The Chariot (7)

  • The Fool moves forward with newfound determination and control as symbolized by the Chariot card which represents the potential triumph over challenges.

Strength (8)

  • The Fool encounters obstacles on his journey and the Strength card shows him the value of courage, strength, resilience, and fortitude.  

The Hermit (9)

  • The Fool recognizes the need for rest, introspection, and soul-searching when he encounters The Hermit. The Hermit guides the Fool into a phase of solitude and seeking inner wisdom.

Wheel of Fortune (10)

  • The Fool reaches a fork in the road and the Wheel of Fortune signals a turning point on his journey. He knows change is inevitable so he becomes adaptable and accepting of whatever is coming next.

Justice (11)

  • The Fool finds himself moving through a phase where he needs to be accountable and ethical in his decision-making. The balance and fairness in the Justice card supports him in this quest.

The Hanged Man (12)

  • The Hanged Man challenges the Fool to shift his perspective and teaches him the importance of relaxing into a phase of surrender and letting go.

Death (13)

  • After seeing things from a new perspective the Fool finds himself moving into a new phase of his life that requires transformation and rebirth. The Death card represents a profound change in the Fool’s journey, paving the way for renewal and personal growth.

Temperance (14)

  • The Fool encounters a period of conflict and the Temperance card shows him how to restore harmony through inner balance, cooperation, and moderation.

The Devil (15)

  • The Fool recognizes he has personal limitations he has to face. The Devil, which symbolizes bondage and materialism, challenges the Fool to confront and overcome his personal demons and material attachments so he can grow spiritually.

The Tower (16)

  • The Tower brings sudden upheaval, breaking down old structures and beliefs, and the Fool finds himself unexpectedly propelled into a period of profound change.

The Star (17)

  • After the unexpected changes in his life, the Fool feels a sense of renewed faith and purpose as symbolized in the Star card. The Fool is inspired and moves forward with a new vision.

The Moon (18)

  • Moving towards his new vision the Fool encounters the Moon which signifies illusions and the subconscious. The Fool now finds himself on a journey of self-discovery and confronting hidden truths.

The Sun (19)

  • Older and wiser, the Fool finds clarity and joy on his path toward enlightenment. The Sun card brings optimism and illuminates the path ahead.

Judgment (20)

  • The Fool reflects on his life and the Judgment card marks a phase of his life that is about self-evaluation and accountability, prompting the Fool to reflect on his choices and actions.

The World (21)

The World card signifies completion and accomplishment, marking the end of the Fool’s Journey and the attainment of a higher level of understanding about his life and the world around him.

Related Articles

  • My favorite tarot decks – CLICK HERE
  • My favorite oracle card decks – CLICK HERE
  • Tarot Card Meanings Library (all tarot articles on my site) – CLICK HERE

Artist Attribution



As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some links on this blog post may be affiliate links that can result in small commissions & help support the site.

More To Explore

Defined Ego Energy Center in Human Design
Human Design

Defined Ego Energy Center in Human Design

This article covers the defined Ego (or Heart) Energy Center in Human Design. The word “defined” is also known as “closed” or “colored” in Human

Open Ego Energy Center in Human Design
Human Design

Open Ego Energy Center in Human Design

This article covers the open Ego Energy Center in Human Design. The word “open” is also known as “undefined” or “white” in Human Design. When